Check out this article I found on the Under Pressure Dive Blog!
© 2014 Stephen Krausse. All rights reserved. Used with permission.

Tusa X-Pert II Point @ kirkscubagear

Tusa X-Pert II Point @ kirkscubagear

If you’ve been diving a while you may already have a strong opinion about whether or not you need a dive knife and; if you own one, which type you prefer. If you’re a new diver you may be wondering “Do I need a dive knife?”

Like many ‘seasoned’ divers Lloyd Bridges set the bar for me when it came to dive knives as ‘Mike Nelson’ in the Sea Hunt series. Nelson’s character sported what basically amounted to a short sword. So, when I was looking at display of dive knives I knew exactly what I wanted and bigger was better.

When I purchased my first SCUBA rig I was so excited about SCUBA diving! I wanted everything. No, scratch that I wanted EVERYTHING! I wanted to be the most prepared diver with the latest tech. As part of that kit I purchased a dive knife. Not a modest 2.5 inch BCD pocket type knife… no sir not me. This was the full on 5″ inch titanium blade with the super duper ankle holster (although I haven’t tested it, I think it might glow when orcs are about).

Getting to the Point
So, what is the ‘point’ of the dive knife or ‘diver’s tool’ as some agencies have taken to referring to it?

“To protect myself against predators!” – uh… no. It might work on TV and movies but in real life environmental awareness, understanding & respect for the environment and maintaining your composure are far better ways to avoid a negative interaction with a predator.
”I’m a spy.” – I’m going to have to give you that one. If you’re the likes of James Bond you may need one.
“I wanted to get a souvenir.” – big NO – please leave the reef in the condition you found it for the rest of us – don’t be THAT guy (or gal).
“I’m hunting abalone.” – fair enough, there are some foods that you can harvest with a blade.
“To escape entanglement.” – Yes! READ MORE

Kathy Dowsett
www.kirkscubagear.com

Under Pressure Dive Blog

About dive53

I believe in protecting our oceans, lakes and rivers, as well as their aquatic life. I respect the work of conservation groups such as Save the Sharks, Save the Sea Turtles and Save our Wrecks. I believe that the use of plastic bags/bottled water should be discouraged as plastic finds its way to the ocean. I also support Diving for the Disabled and Swimming for the Disabled. As a PADI-certified diver, my interest in diving led to the opening in July 2008 of kirkscubagear, my online business. My site offers more than 2,000 products, including freediving, swimming and outdoor equipment. My continuing goal is to encourage diving and offer customers a shopping alternative for the purchase of scuba gear.

Leave a Reply

