1000lumeninsane available @ kirkscubagear

I (Chipola Diver) was recently given an opportunity to test a new dive light, and I was fortunate enough to get a light shipped to me. I have several different backup lights, some which are extremely powerful, at least that’s what I thought prior to testing this new light!

This new light blows all of my other backup lights out of the water. I’d even consider this as a primary light for certain dives. It’s that good! I put this light up against my best backup light and that light looked more like a penlight next to the DRIS light. I also compared it to my 21 watt HID canister light. My HID light was brighter, but the DRIS light stands its own next to it. On one of my dives with this light I pulled it out and used it as a primary while Jen was using her 21 watt HID in front of me. She had no problems seeing my DRIS light or any of my light signals. I am so impressed with this light I bought a second one for Jen while we were at BTS. This picture:::take a look at a comparison of my 21 watt, my Intova Ultranova, and my DRIS light, in that order:

Submited By: Stephen F. on 11/01/2012
Verified Buyer

I bought this light for my recent trip to the Phillipines and all I can say is wow. I would have preferred a lithium ion powered LED light, but couldn’t find one with good reviews so this light was the ticket. I used rechargeable c cells with this light and the results were fantastic. Burn time was about 1.5 hours at full output. Other divers were green with envy as my light lit up the reef, bringing out all the glorious colors. I can honestly say that diving with this light changes the diving experience when diving below 40 feet, or under lower vis conditions or cloudy days. It turns a mono-cromatic world into one exploding with vibrant colors. In low vis conditions, other divers knew exactly where I was as they could see the beam of my light even when they couldn’t see me. None of the other dive lights were remotely as bright as my beam would completely obscure their beams, often from 3 times further away. I could easily have sold my light to numerous divers there. this was $90 very well spent!

Submited By: Daniel R. on 10/29/2012
Verified Buyer

After doing some online research about LED dive lights, I ran across this one and soon bought it. I used it last week for two lobster hunting night dives at Catalina Island. It was far superior to the other handheld lights my buddies were using. Cast a great beam that was both far and wide. When we got out of the water they all wanted to look at it.

Submited By: David H. on 10/24/2012
Verified Buyer

I got this light a few months ago and have about 20 dives on it so far. I love it, its as bright as my buddy’s HID canister light for a fraction of the cost. I’d highly recommend this light to anyone, its well made and a great deal at this price.

Thanks to the Chipole Diver review and my supplier for the reviews!!!

Kathy Dowsett
www.kirkscubagear.com

About Kathy Dowsett

I believe in protecting our oceans, lakes and rivers, as well as their aquatic life. I respect the work of conservation groups such as Save the Sharks, Save the Sea Turtles and Save our Wrecks. I believe that the use of plastic bags/bottled water should be discouraged as plastic finds its way to the ocean. I also support Diving for the Disabled and Swimming for the Disabled. As a PADI-certified diver, my interest in diving led to the opening in July 2008 of kirkscubagear, my online business. My site offers more than 2,000 products, including freediving, swimming and outdoor equipment. My continuing goal is to encourage diving and offer customers a shopping alternative for the purchase of scuba gear.

Leave a comment